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Marriage License Application Information 
Courthouse Office Hours: 8 am to 4:30 pm Monday through Friday. 

FEE:  $75.00 with a five-day waiting period NOT including the day of application. 

FEE is payable in cash, check or money order only.  Credit/debit cards are not accepted. 

Marriage license applications cannot be made through the mail. 

Both applicants must personally complete the application. 

Blood tests are not required. 

 

You may pay an extra $15.00 fee to waive the five-day waiting period if: 

 The applicant is dangerously ill and such illness is likely to result in death. 

 The applicant is in the military and is expecting to be relocated. 

 The applicant works or attends school at a location that is distant from the County and from 

which it is difficult to make application at least 5 days in advance. 

 Out of State applicants. 

 Please contact our office to confirm your eligibility to receive this waiver. 

 

WHERE TO APPLY:   

 If you are a resident of Oneida County, you must apply for your license at the office of the County Clerk in 

Rhinelander.  Satisfactory proof of residence is required. 

 

 If you are a resident of Wisconsin, but not Oneida County, you must apply for the license in the county where 

you reside.  After obtaining the license, you may be married anywhere in Wisconsin. 

 

 If you are not a Wisconsin resident, you must apply in the county where the marriage is to be performed. 

 

DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED AT TIME OF APPLICATION: 

 A driver’s license or State identification card (picture ID) and Social Security number.  (If the address on the 

driver’s license is not where you currently reside, you must bring in two pieces of dated mail, utility bill, or 

other documentation listing both your name and current address as proof of residency.) 

 

 ALL PERSONS applying for a marriage license in Oneida County will be required to provide a certified copy 

of their birth certificate at the time of application. We do not accept a hospital document or a baptismal 

record. If you do not have this document, you must obtain the “certified legal birth certificate” at the Register 

of Deeds office in the county where you were born. NOTE: Certified birth certificates contain the official seal 

and signature of the County Register of Deeds. Faxed copies of certified birth certificates will not be 

accepted. 

 

 If either of you have been married before, Wisconsin law requires that you are divorced at least six (6) 

months before remarrying. You must bring a copy of the final divorce judgment. It must show the date of the 

divorce and also the Judge’s signature. Please check all papers very carefully; we cannot issue a license if 

the papers are not signed or do not show the date of the divorce. 

 

 If either of you is widowed you must bring a certified copy of the death certificate of your former spouse. 

 

 You need to know the exact date of the wedding. Licenses expire after thirty days, so you do not want to 

apply too early. 

 

 You need to know the name of the officiant who will perform the ceremony, along with their phone number 

and address. If you need a Judge or Court Commissioner to perform the marriage ceremony, contact this 

office or refer to the list of Court Commissioners provided on this web site. 

 

 If you are 16 or 17 years of age, your custodial parent(s) must complete a consent form, provided by the  

County Clerk’s office, before the license can be issued.    
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MARRIAGE LICENSE OFFICIANTS 

 
Law Clerk 

Oneida County Courthouse 

715-369-6240 

 

 

FAMILY COURT COMMISSIONER 

Deborah Hatfield 

P O Box 400 

Rhinelander, WI 54501 

715-369-6152 

 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL COURT COMMISSIONERS 

 

John J. Hogan     Timothy Melms 

P O Box 1008     P O Box 1008 

Rhinelander, WI 54501   Rhinelander, WI 54501 

715-365-1008     715-365-1008 

 

Kirk Reese     Jennifer Stuber 

8-A West Davenport St.   P O Box 1008 

Rhinelander, WI 54501   Rhinelander, WI 54501 

715-369-5650     715-365-1008 

 

John Danner     Galen Bayne-Allison 

315 Oneida St.     8A W. Davenport St. 

Minocqua, WI 54548    P.O. Box 915 

715-356-9591 Rhinelander, WI 54501 

Phone: 715-392-8995 

 Patrick Finlan      

158 S. Anderson St. #2    

Rhinelander, WI 54501    

715-369-5540  
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